Valero Energy Program

A program that makes a difference in communities

The Valero Energy community investment and commitment program reflects the company's willingness to create better living environments in the communities it serves. Valero provides financial support to numerous causes and organizations, while at the same time encouraging its employees to do volunteer work in the community. The Program's objective is to improve the citizens' quality of life and make a real difference by offering support that addresses society's needs and issues.

Program components

The community investment and commitment program has two components--financial contributions and the involvement of Valero Energy employees in volunteer work with local organizations.

In terms of investment, Valero Energy has established a donation and sponsorship policy, as numerous causes are deserving of support, which is why guidelines have been established to aid in the selection of charities. In terms of  criteria, it must be pointed out that the mission or initiatives of associations, organizations, institutions, persons or promoters wishing to submit an application must be in the following sectors:

  • Community
  • Culture and business
  • Sustainable development
  • Education
  • School perseverance
  • Health

Refer to the Donation application section to find out more about the application procedure.

Under the terms of its matching policy, Valero Energy provides donations to national or regional institutions, foundations or organizations that foster the generosity of its employees. Valero Energy matches the equivalent of 75% of individual donations by employees and retirees up to $1,000 per year per person.

Employee involvement

Valero Energy also gives funding to organizations in which its employees volunteer their time through its Commitment Guide whereby the company allows them time during working hours to make it easier for them to do volunteer work. In some cases, it can assign one or several employees to a non-profit organization for a defined period.

Programme Énergie Valero

Un programme pour faire une différence dans les communautés

Le Programme d'investissement et d'engagement communautaire d'Énergie Valero traduit la volonté de l'entreprise de créer de meilleurs milieux de vie dans les collectivités qu'elle dessert. Ainsi, Valero soutient financièrement des causes multiples et des organismes tout en encourageant le bénévolat des employés dans la collectivité. L'objectif du Programme est d'améliorer la qualité de vie des citoyens et faire une réelle différence en offrant un soutien répondant à des besoins et des enjeux de société.

Les volets du programme

Le programme d'investissement et d'engagement dans la communauté comporte deux volets : d'une part le soutien par le biais de contributions financières, et d'autre part l'implication des employés d'Énergie Valero sous forme de bénévolat auprès d'organismes du milieu.

Dans le cadre du volet d'investissement, Énergie Valero a établi une Politique de dons et commandites car les causes qui méritent un appui sont nombreuses et c'est pourquoi des lignes directrices ont été établies afin d'encadrer la sélection des dossiers philanthropiques. En effet, il faut, entre autres, que la mission ou les initiatives des associations, organismes, institutions, personnes ou promoteurs qui désirent formuler une demande concernent les secteurs suivants :

  • Communautaire
  • Culture et affaires
  • Développement durable
  • Éducation 
  • Persévérance scolaire
  • Santé

Consultez la section Demande de don afin de connaître la procédure pour faire une demande.

Aussi, par l'entreprise de sa Politique de jumelage, Énergie Valero attribue des dons aux institutions, fondations et organismes nationaux ou régionaux qui suscitent la générosité de ses employés. L'équivalent de 75 % du montant des dons individuels des employés et des retraités est jumelé par Énergie Valero, jusqu'à concurrence de 1000 $ par année, par personne.

Implication des employés

Énergie Valero contribue également au financement des organismes dans lesquels ses employés sont bénévoles avec son Guide d'engagement qui, pour faciliter le bénévolat, l'entreprise accorde du temps durant les heures de travail. Elle peut aussi, en certaines occasions et pour une période définie, affecter un ou plusieurs employés auprès d'un organisme sans but lucratif.