Safety

Safe transportation of petroleum products

The pipeline is unquestionably one of the safest ways of transporting refined product. New high performing technologies have improved the quality of the materials and the methods used to construct and protect the pipes. Active and passive measures for ensuring and monitoring safety have been implemented.

Monitoring and safety

The pipeline is monitored 24 hours a day, 365 days a year from a control centre. The inside of the pipe is also checked periodically using an electronic probe that detects any irregularities. In addition to aerial monitoring and regular checks of the cathodic protection system, the entire length of the pipeline is monitored by personnel on foot patrols every year.

The technicians in charge of operating Pipeline Saint-Laurent can check, in real time, the flow rate, pressure and movement of products at various points in the system and thereby identify the slightest irregularity to be in a position to react quickly and safely. Preventive maintenance teams maintain the pipeline and the pumping equipment. Specialists monitor the block valves, the corrosion prevention system and the instrumentation to ensure they work properly in accordance with established procedures.

Emergency measures plan

An emergency measures plan was established in cooperation with the 32 municipalities involved. The people in charge of operating the pipeline are in contact with municipal authorities and public safety officials. The emergency response plan is therefore always coordinated with the plans put in place by public safety officials, by municipal and regional county municipality officials (and their fire departments) along the pipeline route. The emergency measures plan calls for periodic simulation exercises to prepare employees for any emergency that may arise. Should an abnormal situation occur, Valero Energy would immediately shut down the appropriate pumps and block valves stopping flow, thereby isolating the problem area. It would then proceed to perform an inspection and make any necessary repairs. In the highly improbable case of a leak, Valero would immediately activate its emergency plan in close cooperation with local authorities.

Important numbers

Safe operation of the pipeline is a priority. The specialists have been trained to follow proper emergency procedures and are permanently on call, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Pipeline Saint-Laurent Info & Emergency line

1 877 323-0363 (24 hours a day)

Before any excavation work is done anywhere near the pipeline's right-of-way, it is absolutely essential that the Pipeline Saint-Laurent team be contacted and that Info-Excavation be consulted.

Info-Excavation

1 800 663-9228 (24 hours a day)

A safety kit is available to all the owners and municipalities involved (French only).

En toute sécurité.pdf

Sécurité

Transport sécuritaire de produits pétroliers

Le transport par pipeline de produits raffinés est sans contredit l'un des modes d'expédition les plus sécuritaires. Les nouvelles technologies plus performantes ont permis d'améliorer la qualité des matériaux et les méthodes de construction et de protection des conduites. Des moyens actifs et passifs de sécurité et de surveillance sont mis en place.

Surveillance et sécurité

Le pipeline est sous surveillance 24 heures sur 24 et 365 jours par année à partir d'un centre de contrôle. La conduite est aussi vérifiée périodiquement de l'intérieur, avec une sonde d'inspection électronique permettant de détecter toute anomalie.  En plus de la surveillance aérienne et de la vérification régulière du système de protection cathodique, une surveillance pédestre est effectuée chaque année sur l'ensemble du tracé du pipeline.

Les techniciens responsables de l'exploitation du Pipeline Saint-Laurent sont en mesure de connaître en temps réel le débit, la pression et le mouvement des produits en divers points du système et peuvent identifier la moindre anomalie et ainsi réagir rapidement et de façon sécuritaire. Des équipes d'entretien préventif s'assurent de l'intégrité du pipeline et des installations de pompage, et des spécialistes veillent au bon fonctionnement des vannes de sectionnement, du système de prévention de la corrosion et de l'instrumentation, selon les procédures établies.

Plan de mesures d'urgence

Un plan de mesures d'urgence a été élaboré en collaboration avec chacune des 32 municipalités concernées. Les responsables de l'exploitation du pipeline sont en contact avec les autorités municipales et les représentants de la sécurité publique. Le plan de mesures d'urgence est ainsi toujours arrimé  à ceux mis en place par la sécurité civile, les municipalités et municipalités régionales de comté (et leurs services d'incendie) traversées par le pipeline. Conformément au plan de mesures d'urgence (PMU), des exercices de simulation pour préparer les employés à affronter toute situation d'urgence sont menés périodiquement. Si une situation anormale devait être décelée, Énergie Valero réagirait immédiatement en fermant les pompes et les vannes de sectionnement appropriées afin d'interrompre le débit et ainsi isoler le problème et  procéder à l'inspection et aux réparations s'il y a lieu. Dans le cas fort improbable d'une fuite, Valero enclenchera immédiatement son plan de mesure d'urgence en étroite collaboration avec les autorités locales.

Numéros importants   

L'exploitation sécuritaire du pipeline est une priorité. Les spécialistes formés sur les processus à suivre en cas d'urgence  sont en état d'alerte permanente et sont prêts à intervenir 24 heures sur 24 et ce, 365 jours par année.

Ligne info et Urgence  Pipeline Saint-Laurent

1 877 323-0363 (24 heures sur 24)

Avant d'entreprendre des travaux d'excavation à proximité de l'emprise, il est primordial de communiquer avec l'équipe du Pipeline Saint-Laurent et d'avoir consulté Info excavation.

Info-Excavation

1 800 663-9228 (24 heures sur 24)

Une trousse de sécurité à l'intention des propriétaires et des municipalités concernés est disponible.

En toute sécurité.pdf