Jean Gaulin Refinery

Strategic Energy Hub

The Jean Gaulin Refinery, which began operations in 1971, is a strategic energy infrastructure in Quebec and in North America as a whole. It is the largest refinery in Quebec and the second largest in Canada in terms of capacity and it handles crude oil from overseas, the Gulf of Mexico and North America, which is shipped by pipelines and tankers to its deep-water port that operates year round on the St. Lawrence River. Close to 480 permanent employees and more than 200 contract employees work at the refinery.

Production

The refinery's reliable and efficient facilities have a production capacity of 265,000 barrels a day. Its configuration is suited to mainly handle crude oil (acid, light and shale crude), and major consumer products (gas, diesel, jet fuel, propane and heating oil). The refinery has a storage capacity of 8.7 million barrels of crude, and intermediate and refined products. It can also store liquefied petroleum gas.

Investments

The refinery has been upgraded numerous times since 1971. From 2000 to 2020, Valero will have invested more than $1.9 billion in projects at the Lévis refinery to achieve various objectives such as increasing its performance, preserving the mechanical integrity of its facilities, diversifying its supply sources, optimizing its employees' working environment and improving its environmental record.

Substantial amounts have also been invested to harmonize the refinery's activities with the community. A greenbelt was developed, and a $5-million enhancement project was implemented. Refer to the environment section for further details.

Raffinerie Jean-Gaulin

Centre énergétique stratégique

En  service depuis 1971, la raffinerie Jean-Gaulin représente une infrastructure énergétique stratégique au Québec et en Amérique du Nord. Première raffinerie au Québec et deuxième au Canada en termes de capacité, elle  traite du pétrole brut en provenance d'outre-mer, du  Golfe du Mexique et d'Amérique du Nord transporté par pipelines et par bateaux à son port en eau profonde sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Près de 480 employés permanents et plus de 200 employés contractuels travaillent à la raffinerie.

Production

Les installations de la raffinerie offrent une capacité de production de 265 000 barils par jour (BPJ). Sa configuration est adaptée pour traiter principalement des bruts (acides, légers, de schistes), et des produits de grande consommation (essences, diesels, carburéacteurs, propane et  mazout domestique).  Sa capacité de stockage est de 8,7 millions de barils de brut, de produits intermédiaires et raffinés. Elle peut aussi stocker du gaz de pétrole liquéfié.

Investissements

Depuis 1971, plusieurs mises à niveau de la raffinerie  ont été réalisées. Au cours de la période 2000-2020 Valero aura réalisé divers projets d'investissements à la raffinerie de Lévis totalisant plus de 1,9 milliards $ et ce, à différentes fins, telles qu'accroître  son rendement, préserver l'intégrité mécanique de ses installations, diversifier ses sources d'approvisionnement, optimiser l'environnement de travail de ses employés et améliorer son bilan environnemental.  

Des montants importants ont aussi été investis afin d'intégrer de façon harmonieuse les activités de la raffinerie à la communauté. Une « ceinture verte » a été élaborée et récemment, un projet d'embellissement de 5 millions $ a été mis de l'avant. Consultez la section environnement pour en savoir davantage.