Safety

Safety through prevention, audits and response

Everyone's safety is a priority at all times at the refinery. This is based on three components: prevention, audits and response. The action taken focuses on several different elements such as equipment and responders, which give rise to a host of measures such as the following:

Equipment verification

  • Equipment at the refinery meets the industry's highest standards and practices. Equipment is verified periodically, and measures to improve it or rectify any deficiencies are taken whenever necessary.

Training and awareness

  • Special attention is paid to personnel training. Training programs on the performance of duties, procedures, equipment and emergency measures are regularly given to employees.

  • Specific training is dispensed to four specialized internal response brigades: fire, medical, spills and rescue.

  • The refinery's firefighting brigade works in close cooperation with the City of Lévis firefighting services as the latter's team members regularly participate in training sessions on risks related to potential incidents at the refinery.

  • Compliance with security rules is strongly emphasized, and this includes personal protective equipment.

Emergency measures

  • Emergency plans and a crisis management centre are reviewed annually and updated.

  • Emergency simulation drills are performed jointly with all responders, including the City of Lévis and/or the Coast Guard.

  • Direct communication is maintained with the Lévis fire department and the Coast Guard, depending on the incident, so as to provide information on incidents and coordinate measures related to the response plan to ensure public safety.

  • Fixed and portable firefighting equipment such as a truck with a ladder and a pump/foam and 2 pump/foam trucks are available at all times.

Sécurité

La sécurité par la prévention, l'audit et l'intervention

La sécurité de tous est une priorité de tous les instants à la raffinerie. Celle-ci s'appuie sur  les trois axes suivants: la prévention,  la vérification et l'intervention. Les actions mises de l'avant visent plusieurs éléments tels que les équipements et les intervenants, et se  traduisent par  différentes mesures.  En voici quelques exemples :

Les équipements

  • Les équipements en place à la raffinerie répondent aux meilleures normes et pratiques de l'industrie. Les équipements sont  vérifiés de façon périodique, et le cas échéant,  les mesures appropriées sont prises  afin de les  améliorer ou  d'y apporter les correctifs nécessaires.

La formation et la sensibilisation

  • Une attention particulière est apportée à la formation du personnel. Il s'agit de programmes dispensés aux employés à intervalles réguliers concernant  l'exécution des tâches, les procédures, les équipements et les plans de mesures d'urgence.

  • Des formations spécifiques sont dispensées aux membres des 4 brigades internes d'intervention spécialisées (incendie, soins médicaux, déversement et sauvetage).

  • La brigade interne d'incendie de la raffinerie travaille en étroite collaboration avec les services d'incendie de la Ville de Lévis et les pompiers de la municipalité participent régulièrement à des formations sur les risques reliés aux incidents potentiels à la raffinerie.

  • La direction de la raffinerie fait preuve d'une grande rigueur quant au respect des règles de sécurité,  entre autres pour le port d'équipements de protection.

Mesures d'urgence

  • Des plans d'urgence et un centre de gestion de crise  sont en place et sont révisés et mis à jour chaque année.

  • Des exercices de simulation d'urgence sont effectués  avec l'ensemble des intervenants dont la Ville de Lévis et, ou, la Garde Côtière.

  • Des communications  se font directement avec le Service Incendie de Lévis et la Garde Côtière, selon l'incident, pour  fournir de l'information sur les incidents et coordonner les mesures au plan d'intervention et assurer la sécurité de la population.

  • De l'équipement fixe et mobile tel qu'un camion  avec échelle et pompe/mousse et deux camions pompe/mousse sont disponibles en tout temps.